When you launch clusters through Banzai Cloud Pipeline, the platform creates several resources on the cloud provider of your choice. When you decide to terminate a cluster, Pipeline deletes these resources for you. This page describes the termination process and what you can do if it fails.

Graceful termination flow

The regular termination flow basically does the opposite as the create flow, in a reverse order. First, it removes every Helm release and Pipeline installed resource from the cluster, then it moves onto the cloud provider resources.

Normally every resource related to the cluster gets deleted, including attached volumes and load balancers created during the lifecycle of the cluster.

If the termination process fails, it stops and the cluster will get into an error state. This usually happens if the cloud provider rejects deleting a resource (for whatever reason). In that case, you can try rerunning the graceful termination flow (it usually solves the problem) or you can use the force termination flow.

To terminate a cluster named my-cluster, run:

banzai cluster delete my-cluster

Force termination flow

Compared to the graceful flow, force termination does not stop on errors. It goes through the whole process and deletes everything it can. Therefore it’s recommended as a last resort if nothing else works.

Always check manually that everything was successfully deleted on the cloud provider console after a force termination.

To terminate a cluster named my-cluster forcefully, run:

banzai cluster delete --force my-cluster